Trying to Get Organized

I will admit that I am not the most organized person in the world.  My stuff tends to be in a state of organized chaos. I am not one of those people that is always losing things, but I do spend a lot of time looking for a specific item. However, there is something about the change of seasons to Fall that makes me want to clean up and get organized.  I think Fall does this to me because I know how much time I am going to spend in my house in a few months.

I decided to start with a small project this weekend, organizing some of my jewelry.  I have a lot of jewelry.  Now before anyone decides to rob my house let me preface it by saying almost all of it is costume jewelry or in fancy terms (and as it is called in the Sundance catalog) “Artisan Jewelry.”

I find that with my jewelry if I can’t see it, I don’t wear it (I’m too tired in the morning to have much of a memory for my stuff).  So I keep a lot of my jewelry out on my dresser, but it is a mess.  To get this mess under control I have a couple of projects in mind, but this one is a super easy way to organize earrings.  I will admit that I am sure I stole this idea from Real Simple magazine.

IMG_0775This is my usual mess of earrings.  Hard to find the matching pair.

IMG_0773This is after I clean for the cleaning ladies so they can dust.  I am bringing out all of the skeletons in my closet here.

I purchased a ceramic egg holder from Cost Plus World Market.

IMG_0793

 Plain ceramic egg holder.

Truthfully, I wanted a different color but they only had white.  Afterwords I was glad I ended up with white because it makes it easier to see the colors in my earrings.  I sorted out my earrings into the different compartments.  I did put more than one pair in a egg holder, but no more than three.

IMG_0778

 Finished project.

 And now my favorite pairs are organized so that I can easily find them.  This organization project took me probably 10 minutes.  Now if only my closet could be organized so quickly.  -June

 

 

Leave a Reply

